Office Manager / Special Events Assistant (Female, Age 23) in Woburn, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Office Manager / Special Events Assistant in Woburn, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager / Special Events Assistant
Salary$33,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week43
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWoburn, MA
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small (5 people including myself) non-profit organization who puts on 12 special events throughout the year to fundraise for our programs. These events include golf, fishing, tennis, and ski tournaments. Typically each event requires us to reserve room blocks, set up venues, provide entertainment, and solicite donations for auctions. Another aspect of this job is to try and cultivate new donors to come to our events.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Solicite for donation, find new donors, reserve room blocks, find entertainment, set up venues, answering phones, date entry, working with Donor Perfect and AuctionPay,office supply, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, health insurance, dental, sick time accrues 1 day for each month employed

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job does entail me to work with others in a small group on a daily bases and in large groups during special events. I highly enjoy working with others in order to get feedback and foster new ideas and opinions.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with the Director of Special Events and VP of Adminisration. I was hired the next day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What past experience I’ve had that relates to their organization and what I’d be doing, why I want to work there, if I had a chance to view their website

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had no training what-so-ever therefor was not properly trained for my position; I had to learn my position as things came about

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no training for my position

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel as though my background did prepare me for my job, in the sense that I wasn’t afraid to ask questions, I had a broad understanding about fundraising and development from previous internships.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
My internship experience definately helped me prepare for my job because I was able to learn about the field starting from the bottom and working up.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To research the turnover rate (if it’s high there may be a problem), ask if there will be orientation or basic training set aside for them, get a clear understanding if what’s expected of your role at events.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definately need to be personable, outgoing, can think on their toes, is a team player, can multi-task, extremely organized, be able to expect the unexpected.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes I believe that a bachelor’s degree is absolutely necessary for this field/position

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To research the turnover rate (if it’s high there may be a problem), ask if there will be orientation or basic training set aside for them, get a clear understanding if what’s expected of your role at events.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because I work in such a small office I am able to gain a lot of hands-on experience which is what I wanted so that I can actually know about a lot of things in-depth.

What are your current career goals?
to obtain a masters degree in clinical social work so that I can work more closely with others.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
this is a great job for anyone who is outgoing and wants to serve those who are less fortunate then themselves.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern4 monthsnonecommission on human rights, NY
Prior Job 2Intern3 monthsnonepublic relations intern, boston

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4Syracuse UniversityCommunications, BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/ABoston CollegeClinical Social Work, MSW

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.