Manager & Sous Chef (Male, Age 30) in Milwaukee, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Manager & Sous Chef in Milwaukee, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager & Sous Chef
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMilwaukee, WI
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Franchise sit down restaurant.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Front of house management, sous chef, scheduler. all aspects of both the front and the back of house management for a restaurant. including food purchasing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
retirement, stock, heath care coverage, dental, eye, free meals

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. customers who are rude and expect more for thier money–example because we are a franchise restaurant we weigh ingredients so that the portions are the smae nationwide but customers complain they didn’t get enough shrimp, steak or other meat.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Restaurant. Always activity going on. Don’t get to sit down very often.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
none, chef asked me to work there

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. learning to prepare different dishes, ordering, food costs,

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. cooking and knowledge of the basics of food preparation.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
work as a server first (or some other low level position) to see if you really like the industry. go to cooking school. go to business school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
personable, good management & people skills, ability to multitask,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure you really want to do it. it’s hard t get out of! weigh the sacrafices…working nights and holidays. consider what your family life would be like. it’s better when you’re younger.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. it’s my frist job that includes the kitchen and front of house.

What are your current career goals?
open a brewery. own my own restaurant

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i wish i knew more when i was younger. to train overseas. the effects the crazy hours and days would have on family life.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sous Chef/Manager1.5 years40000sous chef and manager front of house
Prior Job 2Sous chef2 years32000`sous chef, food ordering, food preparation, cooking!

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5MATCCulinary Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.