Ophthalmic Technician (Female, Age 38) in houston, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Ophthalmic Technician in houston, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOphthalmic Technician
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week48
Company Size(not answered)
Locationhouston, NY
Years Experience0

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Private pracitice optical with 5 locations

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide patients with the lastest technology in the health and care of their eyes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
0

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with the public on a dailey basis. I like working with the public but would like to work more with patients and docotors in my profession and not in the retail side of the field.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Mall is the current location. I do prefer working in a free standing clinic.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot open
8am to 9amNot open
9am to 10amarrive at 9:45 to open office and prep exam rooms
10am to 11amcheck voicemails and return patient calls
11am to 12pmcall patients to confirm appointments for the next day
12pm to 1pmassist patients with their eye care needs
1pm to 2pmquality control of checking in contact lens orders

and 30 minute lunch

2pm to 3pmfollow up with patients that have eye glass or contact lens orders ready for pick up
3pm to 4pmFiling insurance claims for patients office visits
4pm to 5pmfiling patient charts and pulling charts for next day appointments
5pm to 6pmcounting inventory
6pm to 7pmContinue patient care
7pm to 8pmstock exam rooms for next day
8pm to 9pmclosing procedures for office
9pm to 10pmoffice closed
10pm to 11pmoffice closed
11pm to 12amoffice closed

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, 2 phone interviews, and 1 face to face interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 2 phone interviews with 2 office managers and one face to face interview with the CEO.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Past employement, job titles, job description, average salary and/or commission, education level, hobbies, and personal intrests.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they made sure I had time and proper training to carefully preform tasks at hand.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Phone systems, computer programs, medical abbreviation, specific diagnostic instruments,and filing claims with insurance companies.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
When I have finished my degree I will be more prepared to keep up with the latest technology and ey health issues.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes while I am in school I am being trained to be able to preform task in my occupation without supervision.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Sign up for classes at San Jacinto. Could also join one of the following organizations: Certifitied Opticians Association, or Texas Optometry Association

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Most be able to interact with the public and maintain professionalism. Most have excellent organizational skills to keep up with important files and documents. Must also be able to proform diagnostic testing.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient, flexible, and willing to work with the public.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is I am only seeking more knowledge and a degree so that I can advance in the current profession while increasing my salary, benifits, and knowledge.

What are your current career goals?
To complete my degree and advance my knowledge in my occupation.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Although at times it can be challanging in the end it is very rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Optician1 year38000despinsing Optician
Prior Job 2Optical Mananger3 years30000Open and close office, ordering supplies, ordering products, filing insurance claims for patients, supplying patients with the information and instructions for promoting good eye health care.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
san JacintoN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.