Teacher (Female, Age 55) in Morgan Hill, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 55 who works as a Teacher in Morgan Hill, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $74,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Morgan Hill, CA
Years Experience 23 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
public school teacher in a unified school district

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
teach students and work with staff

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
kaiser health plan , dental plan, i receive 10 days sick leave a year which are cummulative, retirement plan, vacation is not offered though we do not work year round

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated, i have a masters degree and do not earn what other jobs pay for the amount of education i have

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with children and adults daily. i like this.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in a school campus and i like the feeling of being in a place of education

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am not working
8am to 9am not working
9am to 10am not working
10am to 11am not working
11am to 12pm not working
12pm to 1pm not working
1pm to 2pm meeting about having counselors at our school

school is out. i am not being paid for this

2pm to 3pm not working
3pm to 4pm not working
4pm to 5pm not working
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
resume and paper app-it was 23 years ago

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
i had 2 interviews. the first one was with 2 people, and the second interview was with director of hr

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
was i able to speak Spanish

tell us about your experience

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, but my employer expected me to be ready to work

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, Training took place in college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my college prepared me well.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
During college i was a student teacher and that was excellent prep

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to college and major in education

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be flexible, organized in paperwork and patient

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
absolutely yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
realize everyone wants to quit and everyone cries at first with this job. Later the job becomes satisfying,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i wanted to be a teacher

What are your current career goals?
to continue and add additional responsibilities

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
teaching is not what it looks like in sit coms

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 teacher 2 yrs 25 an hour taught migrant students on Saturdays
Prior Job 2 na

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.95

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.81 sjsu liberal studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4 sjsu/wgu teach cred and masters

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.