Payroll And Bookeeper (Female, Age 35) in Forks, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Payroll And Bookeeper in Forks, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Payroll And Bookeeper
Salary $36,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 34
Company Size (not answered)
Location Forks, WA
Years Experience 17 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Reconcile all accounts accounts payable accounts receivable,prepare payroll,File quarterly reports and taxes.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I talk care of all cash incoming and outgoing,purchasing invoicing,reconcile all daily money

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K,Health Care

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with the staff and any outside company that either need our services or serves our needs I thoroughly enjoy most people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Always interacting with all employees to keep touch of our business needs and their needs as employees.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am Start work @9 gather all receipts from the previous day and reconcile all cash credit cards employee charges.
10am to 11am Still working on daily usually takes about 2 hours.when finished I start with invoicing any acct receivable any outstanding accts payable,Make phone calls to distributors place our orders for the week
11am to 12pm Still on the phone with dist.Emailing and faxing our requests and logging totals of each dist so i can cut a check to pay them when they arrive.Making a outline chart on when what will be delivered for the next week.
12pm to 1pm Have lunch onsite.
1pm to 2pm Post all daily receipts to our general ledger and making sure all balances out to zero (sometimes a breeze sometimes a nightmare)
2pm to 3pm gather all info I will need to do payroll timecards to figure out,gather all outstanding charges from employees and log info into computer.
3pm to 4pm Print out checks sign envelope stamped and mailed.Am done with my day
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Started out entry level and was promoted thanks to my drive to learn

What was the application process?
paper app

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No I was already working when promoted from within

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Been way too long ago

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes through the whole process of learning always had someone to help

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained on the job and had lots of hands on training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Know your business keep up with new ideas and items used in accounting and you must love this kind of work it is a workout for the mind.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Basic Accounting and a knowledge of everyday business and definite tax prepared(Knowing about what taxes you file and why

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t be afraid to ask questions the more info your armed with the less chance for mistakes

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No it wasn’t but it is now

What are your current career goals?
Learn more within the perameters of my job and maybe becoming a certified public accountant

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I truly do love my job as I know most people do not I am proud to work with such a fine group of individuals

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 counter help 1yr minimum wage Cashier and serve public
Prior Job 2 wharehouse worker 9 months min wage worked a product line belt packaged video games shrunk wrap and boxed for delivery

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.