Sales Associate (Female, Age 58) in New Port Richey, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 58 who works as a Sales Associate in New Port Richey, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location New Port Richey, FL
Years Experience 17 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Tobacco company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
service convenient stores

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Na

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
no

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I’m required to be face to face with my clients. This is sometimes not enjoyable especially when the clients are not rational about certain policys

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
varies

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sit down and check emails to confirm the days activities. Check voice mail also to confirm any additional tasks being scheduled
8am to 9am Drive to first customers store. Usually takes around a hour to get from office to store location furthers aaway
9am to 10am Talk with client about possibilities of additional supplies. Organize the product place any promotional items if needed. Detail progress on report sheet researchable date to come back
10am to 11am Drive to next client and go through the same tactics as above. Sometimes things will arise such as placement of new products so this may take additional time to address this issue with the client and obtain approval
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Drive to the next client and again recheck all supplies and product placement. Clean up any disorganization. Communicate with the client the needs of our product and confirm that there are no problems
1pm to 2pm Head to office to make follow up phone calls and arrange for additional clients for the following day. Complete any unanswered emails and voice mails. Complete paperwork for the activities of the day
2pm to 3pm Last minute chances, paperworks signed and sent off to proper departments. rescheduled for tomorrows work day
3pm to 4pm sign out
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
paper application with a followup phonecall

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No there was not I was hired blindly

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes took several weeks in addition to the months of readings

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
following along someone, Learning the codes for expired products, Learning the process of rotations of products and how to get prime advertisement spots within the clients stores

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. Having a high school diploma is all I have, having a degree in my fields helps shield people from the common misconceptions needed to work

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to ensure they are personable to others. This type of career is not for those who do not have tough skin or who can not get along with others. Its very hands on

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
a AS in business would help anyone in this type of career move

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, a Associates Degree at the bare mininum

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen to what they say and never take no for a answer find another method to convince them of the products you are trying to provide for them.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Its my only career plan.

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My job is not for everyone but it does have its perks

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.