Receptionist (Female, Age 46) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Receptionist in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience16 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a non-profit and we have about 60 staff & vista working there and we provide hands on direct volunteer services for children, adults, the edlerly,animals,people with HIV aids, parks, garden and soup kitchens.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take care of all the front desk duties, maintenance, messenger request, office supplies, answering the phone, mail, faxes, deliveries, plus more

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
United Health Care, 4 weeks vacation, sick leave and 403B Savings plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated but tough times call for adaption

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, and i like my work

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s close to everthing,even my mom and mom-in-law

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
from a referral

What was the application process?
Someone knew someone from the job, but I had a resume too.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a two person interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what are your goals, future plans, what salary are you looking for, are you flexable.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes , i do

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
just a little , i knew mosrt of what i was doing before.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no not really

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I think so.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try to take mt job, bur first I have to leave it.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Eveything, they have to have skills, and a good sense of humor

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I fill tha tyou don’t if you are at job for over 20 years

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be a good person and love who you work with.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am thinking about that.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t really have a goal at the monemt but I am thinking about it hard.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Do what you love the most.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1receptionist1632work wiith co-worker & directors and managers
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.