Network Engineer (Male, Age 41) in Duncan, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Network Engineer in Duncan, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNetwork Engineer
Salary$89,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDuncan, SC
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Plastic Packaging Manufacturing

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
maintain LAN and WAN network on a regional and global basis

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks Vac, 401K, Health, Dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like this about my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amarrive at work at 8am. Drink coffee and review new email until 9am.
9am to 10amMeeting to discuss options for a new project to replicate dtat from out primary site to our Disaster Recovery site.
10am to 11amReview contract with current disaster recovery vendor. Make recommendation on changes to contract to match our current environment. Document changes any pass along to Legal dept for review. Setup future meeting to review new proposal.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmReview network monitor logs for errors and performance. Run network performance charts to analyze performance problems. Recommend solution to remedy performance issues.
1pm to 2pmReview current projects and update status.
2pm to 3pmWorks on project plans for upcoming projects. Talk with project team members regarding workload.
3pm to 4pmWork on email and returning phone calls.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, one interview with direct supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What was my experience levels with certain technical environments. Money requirements.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Sent me to additional training as needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Technical training at local college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It was relevant.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
career certifications and training

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical and project management skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes. A 2 year degree with 5+ years of OJT are minimual

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get some technical training

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I do not intend to move on.

What are your current career goals?
Global Network manager

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
NA

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1network Engineer3 years20000Support on site LAN and PC environments
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:NA

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
NASpartanburg Community CollegeAS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.