Senior Technician (Male, Age 37) in Waukesha, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 37 who works as a Senior Technician in Waukesha, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Senior Technician
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Waukesha, NY
Years Experience 15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A large company that facilitates the movement of packages.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Mostly PC Support for the users, both local and remote. Network support as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks of vacation, 7 discretionary/sick days, 401k, medical, dental, vision insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job has me working with others to help them through their computer issues. I do enjoy it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office and do enjoy it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from class I was taking.

What was the application process?
submitted resume and an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
one interview with HR rep and then a Supervisor in the IT department

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
don’t recall

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. There was training, but time constraints left me to kind of fend for myself.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Very little, but mostly about unique systems to the company

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, by going through the classes I did, I was able to fix everyday problems easily

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take computer classes and get A+ and NET+ Certified.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
technical skills, troubleshooting skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take computer classes and learn about the systems that you will support.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employment is part of my career plan as this is where I plan to retire from.

What are your current career goals?
Stay with my current company and continue to assist in the computer field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 PT – Instructor 5 15000 Taught non-credit computer classes at the college I graduated from.
Prior Job 2 Support Desk 5 12000 Help students that came in with computer issues and worked in the mainframe room printing paychecks and reports.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Waukesha County Technical College CIS Programmer/Analyst
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.