(Male, Age 47) from indianapolis, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 47 who works as a Agent in indianapolis, IN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Agent
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location indianapolis, IN
Years Experience 15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
2 employes , we specialize in getting hard to place drivers auto insurance and help them get there drivers lisc back ,

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
write policys, do quotes over the phone and in the office, take payments, do changes on policys, take care of problems on peoples policys

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health ins employer gives me 350.00 a month towards it

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
on deals with alot of people everyday on phone and in person , i like working with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, love the office i work in

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrive at work at 8:00 a.m.
8am to 9am get commputers up and running , run reports from the day before count my cash drawer , get the depoit ticket ready from the day before to take cash and money orders to the bank
9am to 10am do quotes, take payments write auto policys and any other customer service fuction
10am to 11am same as 9-10
11am to 12pm samee as 9-10
12pm to 1pm same as 9-10
1pm to 2pm same as 9-10
2pm to 3pm same as 9-10
3pm to 4pm same as 9-10
4pm to 5pm same as 9-10
5pm to 6pm leave work at 5 oclock unless there are other people in the office
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
in person with the owner

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes in person interview , with owner and lead agent at the time in our office

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
cant remeber

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
just on the job training ,watching

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they would have to get there states insurance lisc , then look online for jobs in insuance agencys, call alot of agencys in your town ask if they are hiring

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
have to be able to get along with the public , deal with problems people get mad sometimes you have to be able to deal with that , you have to be well organized to make sure you have all the right signatures on stuff, and to be able to find paperwork when needed, you have to be good on a commputer since all the companys now are almost all online payments and apps

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
high school, and on the job training is the most impotant

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
you have to like working with people helping them with there problems , and be level headed , you cant get upset with people ,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes would like to retire from this company

What are your current career goals?
to build the agency bigger and bigger

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
its a good job since i have no collage

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 warerhouseman 4 17000 load and unload trucks
Prior Job 2 lineman 5 15000 fuel and deice comercial aircraft, store clean fuel private jets

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.