Secretary To Judge (Female, Age 38) in Carle Place, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Secretary To Judge in Carle Place, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Secretary To Judge
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Carle Place, NY
Years Experience 11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
NYS Courts

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Secretary to Sup. Court Judge

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Pension, Health Plan, 401 (b)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Just the Judge and a Law Secretary

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
NYC Office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am NA
8am to 9am NA
9am to 10am Go through mail, listen to voice mail message from previous night/morning
10am to 11am Check on cases for day, find any missing folders on calender
11am to 12pm Type any decisions due in Court, take phone calls, filing
12pm to 1pm Type any decisions due in Court, take phone calls, filing, go to courtroom to check on Judge and see if he needs anything
1pm to 2pm LUNCH
2pm to 3pm Type any decisions due in Court, answer phones, filing, retrieve mail a second time
3pm to 4pm Get Court files ready for next day’s session
4pm to 5pm Finish up last of typing, filing, photocopying
5pm to 6pm GO HOME!
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a former co-worker

What was the application process?
Resume and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with the Judge. We clicked and he hired me on the spot!

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What were my duties in my former job, salary looking for, experience

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, told me what was expected from me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training. Just “real” experience from high school and former job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, learned great typing, steno and computer skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take NY State Court Exams

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Typing and computer skills, filinf, telephone. Basic secretarial duties

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
HS/2 yr. college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Great job if you can get into a City or State position in your own State. Great benefits such as Pension, 403b, vacation time, salary increases, location pay

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I will stay in the Court system until I retire.

What are your current career goals?
Stay in the Court system with my current Judge

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Fufilling, interesting and great people from Court Officers to Judges in Court System.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Legal Secretary 10 35000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 St. John’s Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.