Secretary (Female, Age 38) in Price, UT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Secretary in Price, UT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Secretary
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Price, UT
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Work for a School District in their Technology Department.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Inventory, Answer phones, complete work orders, order printing supplies.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with computer technicians as well as teachers and administrators. I like everyone I work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a office. I don’t like all the boxes and computers laying around. Really cluttered work area.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at work, unlock doors, make coffee, check messages.
8am to 9am Answer and direct phone calls to appropriate people. Place a order for printer cartridges. Check e-mail.
9am to 10am Answer and direct more phone calls, do inventory, finalize some purchases.
10am to 11am Answer and direct phone calls, do inventory.
11am to 12pm Answer and direct phone calls, assist teacher with ink orders, Purchase ink.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Go to individual schools and inventory fixed assets.
2pm to 3pm Go to individual schools and inventory fixed assets.
3pm to 4pm Go to individual schools and inventory fixed assets.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
submit resume, do interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, there were 4 people on the interview group, I was asked a wide variety of questions about computer programs and coping under pressure skills.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What programs I have used, If a supervisor didn’t want to talk to someone could I lie and say he wasn’t here, how do you deal with a pushy salesperson.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was trained for over a week.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, computer classes at a local college. Word processing, data base, spread sheets.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, all the classes I took helped with the computer applications I use.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Getting a associates degree in secretarial and information processing.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Lots of computer skills, organizational skills, be able to work independently.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to deal with a lot of sales people, know how to use your time wisely, have fun.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to retire from a State job.

What are your current career goals?
Right now I have no goals.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my job.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Secretary 10 30000 Inventory, Purchasing, Answering phones, completing work orders
Prior Job 2 Owner 3 Office manager for a Paint and Body shop

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
CEU AA in Secretrail
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.