High School Teacher (Male, Age 32) in Liverpool, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 32 who works as a High School Teacher in Liverpool, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHigh School Teacher
Salary$62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLiverpool, NY
Years Experience9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Urban high school with 1600 students in a district of 23 schools

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
teaching science

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
7 vacation days, 5 sick days, 414H, summers off, ALL holidays off, snow days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
fairly paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with teachers, students, administrators, and parents on a daily basis.

I love it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
City school

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to work (share a ride with me wife who teaches 3 miles away
8am to 9amteach 1st block 9th grade biology

72 minutes

9am to 10am
10am to 11amteach 2nd block 9th grade biology

72 minutes

11am to 12pmteach 3rd block 9th grade biology

72 minutes

12pm to 1pmLunch

30 minutes

1pm to 2pmteach 4th block 9th grade biology

72 minutes

Every other day this is a team meeting block where all 8 teacher on my team meet and discuss problem students, content, incentives attendance data, and meet with parents.

2pm to 3pmteach 5th block 9th grade biology

72 minutes

3pm to 4pmdrive home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, 2 interviews, mock teaching, interview with principal

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews at district offices, fingerprinting, district with principal an 3 other teachers at individual school

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
many about discipline and pedagogy

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, bachelors in elementary education, masters in secondary education, state certification

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a Masters Degree in Education

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
able to work with teenagers, able to be called “a fucking asshole” or “nigger” on a daily basis, even if you are white.

being blamed by the public for students that can’t read, because their parents don’t value education AT ALL…

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
absolutely

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get a tough skin,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yea, I plan on being here until I retire

What are your current career goals?
eventually become an administrator, but teach for another 5-10 years first

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Stocker8y rs$8/hr 25 hrs/wkstocking shelves at a grocery store
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:85

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9SUNY OswegoBachelors Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5LeMoyne CollegeMasters Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.