Registered Nurse (Female, Age 29) in Bath, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Registered Nurse in Bath, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRegistered Nurse
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBath, MI
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Sparrow Hospital employs around 7000 people. It is a not for profit hospital.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in a cardiac catheterization lab. I prep patients for heart caths, pacemakers, neuro intervention, and electrophysiology studies. I also work in the cath labs themselves, as a circulating RN and working the X-ray equipment, or monitoring the cases. I also take care of the patients post procedure.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health insurance, dental insurance, short and long term disability, vision coverage

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I always work with others. Healthcare is not a field where you can work alone. I generally enjoy working with others. The teamwork we have, in this department is unique, and a reward of working here. Our patients enjoy seeing us working together for them. Besides my co-workers, I work with several patients during the course of a day and feel blessed to be able to care for them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Our opinions are highly valued by our supervisors and co-workers. We are all open to express our opinions and any insight we may have to better care for our patients, or to make things more efficient.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive to work, and check assignment for the day. Prepare the cath lab by doing room check, mixing up needed meds, obtaining stock.
8am to 9amReceive patient from holding room. Check patient’s chart, I.D. band, date of birth, consent form, allergies, procedure, history. Take patient into cath lab, set up patient for procedure.
9am to 10amWhen doctor arrives, assist with heart catheterization, including any intervention i.e. angioplasty, stents, rotoblader, intravascular ultrasound. When finished with patient, undrape them, and return them to the holding room.
10am to 11amPrepare room for next patient. Receive next patient and check all of the before mentioned checks. Assist with heart cath.
11am to 12pmLunch break
12pm to 1pmContinue with heart catheterizations on patients until all of them are done for the day.
1pm to 2pmContinue with heart catheterizations on patients until all are done for the day. Typically we will perform 5-8 heart catheterizations per lab, per day.
2pm to 3pmRestock room with supplies used up during the course of the day. Continue with heart caths as above.
3pm to 4pmContinue with the heart catheterizations as above.
4pm to 5pmWind up lab for the day. Finish any patients that need to be seen, prepare our next day cath board. Everyday, we must list all the cases, make appropriate folders, with appropriate orders for each patient the next day. Check room assignments for the next day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Worked in a department down the hall, that worked closely with this department.

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had 2 interviews. One with my direct boss, and one with her and her direct boss. I was mostly told what the job responsibilities would be, and what was expected of me. I was actually asked very few questions about myself, as I had worked on the floor for 2 1/2 years and was known by them, to some degree.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked how I would deal with stressful situations, the amount of call, how I worked with others. What my strengths and weaknesses are.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel like I was able to be trained moderately well with most situations that could arise. I felt relatively comfortable with the cath lab and the people I was working with. The other reason, you are always on a team, so you never have to go it alone. There are always at least 2 other people to bounce ideas off of.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had six months of on the job training. I was trained in our prep/holding room, how to circulate in a cath lab–included the equipment used, and set up of patient. I was also trained on how to operate our labs X-ray equipment and how to monitor/record the patient record.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel nursing school and college prepared me for my job. I learned basic nursing skills in nursing school, that I could further enrich once I was in the real world.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it wasn’t called an internship, but the clinical work I did prepared me for my job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend obtaining a nursing license. I also would recommend working on a floor, to get a degree of nursing skills, before attempting to work in a cath lab.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Passion to help people, extremely good clinical skills, quick to adapt, quick to react, accepts criticism–constructive or otherwise, slow to anger, quick to laugh

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, I think it would be impossible without education and a lot of training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Give it time. You don’t get good at it overnight. There is ALWAYS more to learn, and sometimes you learn it from the last person you would expect.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I enjoy were I am, and am learning a lot. I don’t really have a career plan at this time.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t have too many. I would like to obtain my bachelor’s degree in nursing at some point, and possibly receive my masters.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My job is extremely fulfilling and makes me feel as though I am making a difference in people’s lives. It is often difficult, but never boring. It is very rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Clinical Nurse2.5 years48000Taking care of patients after having cardicac catheterization. Pulling arterial sheaths and recovering patients.
Prior Job 2Clinical Nurse3 years40000Working on an orthopedic/stroke/trauma/neurological medical/surgical floor

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Lansing Community CollegeAssociate’s Degree in Nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.