Software Engineer (Female, Age 35) in irving, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Software Engineer in irving, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSoftware Engineer
Salary$135,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
Locationirving, TX
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
the organization is midsize–almost 1,000 people –the organization is dedicated to building software and hardware for healthcare industry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide description documents and technical specifications for developers –I also program in java as well

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vaation, personal time, flex time, medical, dental, stock options, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am very well compensated for all of my efforts

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does and I enjoy managing and training people as well as working in a group to develop and test software

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work with both my upper manager as well as co workers

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcommute to the office–take any type of conference call
8am to 9amget coffee and read emails –check to see what types of meeetings I have
9am to 10ammeeting with upper management to discuss plans for the week/month etc
10am to 11amprogram or talk to people I manage
11am to 12pmmeet with lower level managers to discuss anythign that is pressing
12pm to 1pmeat as well as handle any conference calls or employee issues
1pm to 2pmwork on code or designing documentation
2pm to 3pmhandle any client issues
3pm to 4pmwork on whateveris pressign
4pm to 5pmfinish up anything that is pressing for the day–i.e. amy type of deliveries or problems–i.e bugs etc
5pm to 6pmget ready to leave unless there is something wrong at the office
6pm to 7pmwork a ltitle from home
7pm to 8pmspend time with family
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
a friend of mine asked me to join his company

What was the application process?
submitted resume, interviewed with 4 different people 3 different times

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes I did. the process 1. a general interview about what I wanted out of this job where I see myself how I can help..etc 2nd was a technical interview where they asked me all types of projgramming questions and the third was a call back–what I wanted to come on board etc

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I remember that they asked me why i wanted the job, what I could do to improve business, what my expectations were d

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes–I was able to tell my boss what i wanted to do and they got me the classes and training htat i wanted

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to get a college degree. take several management class, a masters, then training classes for java certification

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes-I got my degree which is needed these days to get my foot in the door and then for the position I wanted–I needed to get a masters

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no I think that for a lower level job it might have but for this no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get a degree and figuer out what you want to do–take a job that is something that you will be able to learn from–appreciate a job and what it offers even if its’ not something that you envisioned what it would be—

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational and technical skills are important–I have to manage people so this takes tact as well as program software . you have to be flexible and be willing to do something that you might not expect to be doing. You should also have the ability to take criticsm and use it as a way of learning

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I feel that you do need to be able to program and also work well wtih people

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would say that it’s easy to complain but it’s harder to learn from critism and appreciate what you do and in the bigger picture how it affects other people

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes—I want to continue to move ahead but also be proud of what I”m doing and also being able to work hard but not kill myself working

What are your current career goals?
work hard, play hard–not work work more than 50 hours a week–keep the people under me happy as well as the people above me happy

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think that people think about what they don’t want in a job/career instead of what they do want….

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1its manager6135000manange people, develop software, go to meeting, set up proposals, write out technical specs, interact with clients
Prior Job 2software programmer475000develop and test progjrams

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.95

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7SMUengineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3UNTbusiness

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.