Manager 

(Male, Age 30) from Montgomery, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Manager in Montgomery, AL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Manager
Salary 90000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Montgomery, AL
Years Experience 7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My firm employees about 150 professionals. We provide accounting, auditing, tax and consulting services.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I conduct audits and training sessions for clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, 401(k), profit sharing

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, and I do enjoy it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have an office, but I work at the clients’ location 75% of the time. I love it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Review task list for the day. Make sure that open items are attended to.
8am to 9am Called client on issue arising from the audit. Issue resolved.
9am to 10am Meet with staff on upcoming audit. Brainstorm about possible fraud schemes that could be perpetrated by the client.
10am to 11am Continue from above.
11am to 12pm Lunch (yes, I take an early lunch to beat the crowd).
12pm to 1pm Review audit work performed by staff.
1pm to 2pm Work on speech for upcoming accounting conference that I was chosen to speak at. Topic is on the new auditing standards coming out.
2pm to 3pm Continue to work on speech.
3pm to 4pm Continue to work on speech.
4pm to 5pm Listen to webinar on new OPEB standard coming out.
5pm to 6pm Follow up on emails received during the day. Update task list for items completed.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job fair at college

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. There was one individual (a partner in the firm) interviewing me. It was very comfortable and laid back.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My firm provides CPE as well as on-the-job training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. CPA’s are required to have 40 hours of CPE (continuing professional education) each year. It involves a wide variety of specialized subjects in accounting.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My school (Auburn University) has an excellent accounting program.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Well, you need to become a CPA. To do so, you should complete a graduate degree in accounting, and qualify and sit for the CPA exam.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need organizational skills (duh-CPA). You also HAVE to like working with people. Contrary to popular belief, today’s CPA deals more with people than numbers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Practice makes perfect.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It is exactly where I pictured myself to be.

What are your current career goals?
To make partner in this accounting firm.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
NA

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Auburn University BA Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.