Project Engineer (Female, Age 26) in wittmann, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Project Engineer in wittmann, AZ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Engineer
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
Locationwittmann, AZ
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
medium sized general engineering firm

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i work as a project engineer for GPS projects, i create 3D models

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, insurance, 2 weeks paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work independently mostly and i love it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amnothing
8am to 9amnothing
9am to 10amnothing
10am to 11amwork on projects while my baby naps
11am to 12pmcontinue to work on projects
12pm to 1pmcontinue
1pm to 2pmbaby is up work time is over
2pm to 3pmnone
3pm to 4pmnone
4pm to 5pmnone
5pm to 6pmnone
6pm to 7pmnone
7pm to 8pmbaby is asleep work on projects
8pm to 9pmwork
9pm to 10pmwork
10pm to 11pmnone
11pm to 12amnone

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume, called in to fill out app, called back for interviews twice, hired

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, two interviews, i interviewed first with VP and Pres, then with immediate supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i was asked about my prevous experience and about my education and asked to demonstrate or explain why i would be a good candidate

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
nope

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no, i was the first person at the company to do what i do, so i trained myself

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
nope

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
study CAD and engineering, start in entry level to learn allthe tricks of the trade

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
highly detail oriented and organized, focused, computer savvy

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
at least an Associates

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
keep organized

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, it is my career

What are your current career goals?
i am already there

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1my current job is essentually my first except working for my mom as an intern in banking in high school and college
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5ASUcivil engineering BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.