Finance Consultant/Coordinator (Female, Age 36) in NEW YORK, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Finance Consultant/Coordinator in NEW YORK, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinance Consultant/Coordinator
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNEW YORK, NY
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
large media company based in Los Angeles California

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I create journal entries, bill clients, run financial reports, adjust invoices

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, 401k, life

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i must work others on a daily basis. i like that aspect okay, but i would prefer they be more interesting people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amcreated journal entries for July’s Revenue, Credits and adjustments, and Reserve.
9am to 10amcontinued with journal entries
10am to 11amsent out requested invoices
11am to 12pmrevised more invoices
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmadjusted invoice and sent revised copies out
2pm to 3pmdid some analysis of sales with various related companies
3pm to 4pmcontinued with analysis
4pm to 5pmmade more revisions to invoices. sent analysis to coworker
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet job site

What was the application process?
submitted resume and had interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, met with potential supervisor once

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
don’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
check entertainment job websites and have a background in finance/accounting

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
great organizational skills, ability to keep onself busy, bookkeeping skills, able to work independently,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
college graduate

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure you that it’s what you want to do because once you get a lot of experience in this field, it is difficult to switch out.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no

What are your current career goals?
work with actors as a business manager

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not really

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Billboard Coordinator230000created and scheduled tv billboards
Prior Job 2finance associate225000scheduled payments to vendors

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75georgetownpsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.