Sr Accounting Assistant (Female, Age 39) in Fort Mill, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Sr Accounting Assistant in Fort Mill, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSr Accounting Assistant
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week41
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFort Mill, SC
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
billion dollar company that deals in all vending, catering, sporting events and various other functions of food service including airports

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
create journal entries, key manual entries, filing

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 wks pto, health insurance and 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
corporate office so you have no choice but to work with others. it’s okay as long as people can stop gossiping

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
again corporate office not much to describe there. like the corporate setting

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amran reports for billing control, profitability and weekly ar. Sent reports out to various people that utilize info. Distributed condensed reports for subsidy invoices to one sector. Created ar checklist for subsidy invoices.
8am to 9amcreated vhs reconciliation and updated with current fiscal period for balance sheets. processed ar uploads as they came in and alerted financial systems of field accounting team building event. put on out of office reminder to alert people that our team would be out for the rest of the day.
9am to 10amprocessed more ar uploads. located supervisors and managers to post check on demands so I can take to the AP department. Distributed daily checks so accountants could mail out before leaving. checked sector mail and distributed.
10am to 11amchanged voice mail for out of office. made sure last of COD’s were in their respective places. processed last minute ar uploads and confirmed with financial systems completion for day. Helped manager locate old invoice for auditors at the last minute. made sure computer was shut down for weekend and forwarded all calls to voicemail.
11am to 12pmwent home to eat and change clothes before getting lost locating event location for team building.
12pm to 1pmdrove around for 45 minutes after getting lost like I figured. finally found group and was offered food but I declined because of health and allergy reasons. why I went home in the first place. told people how I ended up in the woods someplace and exclaimed there is no fork in the road as the directions described.
1pm to 2pmwas broken up into teams for group games. my game first, candilier and I won. yay me. watched everyone else compete and cheered my team on.
2pm to 3pmwas told by co-worker that I looked like a diva while watching games played by others. whatever.
3pm to 4pmtie breaker game played. raffle took place several gift certificates distributed. drove home and took a nap.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
job recruiter

What was the application process?
received position through temp to perm type of placement

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
only initial interview with recruiter and then you were placed with what matched your skills

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was new in town so basically what made me move to where I was

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, was thrown right into it

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training involved, started as data entry clerk

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I have high math skills so it helped a tremendous amount

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
definitely apply at another company

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
have a basic knowledge of accounting to understand how your roles fits with the full picture

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really at least not for my position but again it still helps to know accounting

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
stay away from the gossipers and you will do fine

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
now it is being that I have found my niche which is accounting

What are your current career goals?
become an accountant

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing else to say about it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales associate4 months24000worked at the jewelry counter, kept track of inventory and sold merchandise
Prior Job 2Office Manager3 years25000assisted doctors for female patient, processed paperwork, dispatched transcripts to typists, handled payroll

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8South UniversityAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.