Real Estate Agent (Male, Age 39) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 39 who works as a Real Estate Agent in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Real Estate Agent
Salary $100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brooklyn, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a real estate agency and we have 25 employees. We only do residential property.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I sell residental real estate property. I do most of own paper work and I also spend alot of time on the phone calling clients and fellow employees.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with different types of people all the time. I’m always on the road and meeting different clients that want to buy homes everyday. I also see my fellow employees all the time and I love them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is in a small office with 10 other employees. I love that we all like each other, are not greedy, and we are a team.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I was asleep.
8am to 9am I was asleep.
9am to 10am Got up, ate breakfast, got ready for work.
10am to 11am Traveled to work by train.
11am to 12pm Got to work and had a 3 client’s waiting for me to see an coop. Went to see the coop.
12pm to 1pm Was still at the coop going over some different features and prices. Got a call from the office that one of my 1pm clients canceled.
1pm to 2pm Got back to the office and greeted two new clients. Went on the computer to show them some info on the house.
2pm to 3pm Took the new clients to the house. My boss called me to let me know that one of the client’s from earlier is extremely interested in the coop.
3pm to 4pm Got back to office and did some paperwork. Went on the computer to check email. Had lunch.
4pm to 5pm Took some clients to a house. The key wasn’t were it was suppose to be so there was a delay.
5pm to 6pm Drove to a clients house to sign some paper about giving me permission to sell his property.
6pm to 7pm Did some more paperwork and made a few calls to clients. Got ready to go home.
7pm to 8pm Took the train home.
8pm to 9pm Had dinner with family and did homework with daughter.
9pm to 10pm Watched some TV with family.
10pm to 11pm Went on the computer to do some work and check email.
11pm to 12am Watched some TV with wife and went to bed.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my current job through a friend.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume to the owner in person and he hired me right away.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have an interview and it went great. The owner loved my enthusiasm and how upbeat I was. He clearly saw that I was very friendly and professional, was well organized, had a good head on my shoulder, and that I had a great sense of humor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where I previously worked, if I ever traveled, how are my people skills, do you like to work long hours and weekends, why did I quit my previous job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. He gave me a basic description of what was needed from me and how to get from point a to point b. He explained everything clearly and I got it quickly.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No. I had experience in all types of sales before hand so the owner put me out on the street right away.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because i took some courses on finance and management so I was prepared for something that came at me that would have totally confused me if i didn’t get that education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They need to take some courses and stay in college. Just getting your real estate license is not enough. You also have to be a people person.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to be a people person. Must know how to sell without being too pushy. Must be very upbeat and courteous at all times. You must be very organized and have a good memory.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You should have at least 2 years of college. Also, travel the world and met different people really helps.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Travel the world and meet as many people as you can. Don’t be shy and learn how to be aggressive but in a positive way.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part of my carer plan because I want to one day own a real estate agency.

What are your current career goals?
I would love to open a single real estate agency. I don’t need multiple locations. Just one place like where I work now and have fun and make great money all the time.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you find the right owners this type of employment can truly be lots of fun.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Manager 3 years 45000 Regional manager for a chain of gift stores on the East coast. hiring and firing, merchandising, handling purchasing, accounting, human resources.
Prior Job 2 Waiter 3 years 35000 A waiter at a 2 star restaurant. Serving customers.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 NYU Business Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.