Administrative Assistant (Female, Age 34) in culpeper, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Administrative Assistant in culpeper, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdministrative Assistant
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationculpeper, VA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
it is a medium size company that has locations in other states we do cleaning of uniforms and emborery work ,,,,

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
my department i work as head administrative assistant ,, which envolves typing , word processing, anwsering of phones, planing

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 wks vacation time , 1 wk sick ,,, 401k , health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes , it envolves me working with others to complete some work assignments ,,, i do enjoy this because this way i am not stuck in a office all day

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in an office and like this because it is not a cubical were everything could be heard ,,,it does give me the options to personalize my working space

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 0
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume over the internet ,,, interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes ,,,, it envolved testing in word and excel programs , personality test ,,, this was an individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can not remember them

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes ,,, i was aside others to see how the company wanted certain job task done

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes , with college i was able to use the programs the company uses with ease

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internships

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to college and get a degree in business management

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
they should be able to work well and comunicate well with others, be a team player ,,, be able to type and use a computer efficently,,, know work and excel programs ,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do quality work and be willing to please and help out others

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes ,,, this is the type of job that i planed on working out with the skills i have recieved

What are your current career goals?
to move up within the company

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1customer service1040000answering phones , data entry , work orders ,sales
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5germannabusiness mangement
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.