Office Manager (Female, Age 28) in Cartersville, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Office Manager in Cartersville, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCartersville, GA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
box manufacturer

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i am over A/P & A/R, I handle month end closings, order office supplies, i am the HR dept

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, 401 (k), profit sharing

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i love my job, great company that i work for and most every one gets along well

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office with nice windows, very relaxed though it is an office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amdrive to work, this is just part of the commute time here
8am to 9amstart working, gather all of the info that i need to begin the daily billing and while that is going on will see what other projects have come up for me after i have left for the day
9am to 10amfinish up billing and get the invoices out in the mail, then start sorting the mail that has come in. file away the billing that i just mailed out for today
10am to 11amstart opening the mail that i received today, will go through and match to my packing slips, to see if i need to get a po from anyone
11am to 12pmcall on Accts Receivable, to find out about missing pymts to us, also prepare the deposit for the bank
12pm to 1pmtake the deposit to the bank, then go to lunch for this hour run any errands i need to for me
1pm to 2pmback to work. now time to start keying the invoices for A/P that i received today, after entering them i will run the report to make sure they were entered correct
2pm to 3pmhave to order office supplies if we are out, must get them here by tomorrow
3pm to 4pmsafety meeting, have all employees come in to listen and watch the tape for the meeting
4pm to 5pmtie up all the loose ends that i possibly can for the day, at this time i would enter in the checks that we got(took to the bank earlier) and post them off the system so that i don’t end up calling on them tomorrow
5pm to 6pmgo home done for the day
6pm to 7pmback at home, now dinner time
7pm to 8pmtv time, my time to relax
8pm to 9pmtv time, relax time
9pm to 10pmtv time, relax time
10pm to 11pmtv time, relax time
11pm to 12ambed time

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
networked it from the company that i worked before going there to work

What was the application process?
filled out paper application, and then did and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, i interviewed with the bosses wife who was the office manager at the time

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
all of the usual questions that are asked in an interview, can’t recall too many of them

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, she trained me very well and was always there to help me if i ever needed her for anything

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
i had some accounting experince, but a lot of it i learned while i was doing the secretary position

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat, i had taken some business/accounting classes in highschool which is where i realized that i wanted to do something in accounting

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
work your way up, that is what i did. prove to your boss that you are able to do that position that you want

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
must be organized, you can’t run an office with out it; must be sociable so that your customers and co-workers get along with you; must be able to do A/P and A/R HR and just running an office on a daily basis

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really, though an accounting degree would help

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
try to take some accounting classes at your local college to see if this is what you want to do

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, it is a job that i love don’t want to leave it and is in a field that i love

What are your current career goals?
would like to continue seeing the company grow and move up if a position opens up

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Mangager5+ yrs38000run the office on a daily basis, handle HR, ordering office supplies, A/P & A/R duties, end of the month, sales tax reports
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.