Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 27) from Orland Park, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Orland Park, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $33,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Orland Park, IL
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
40 employees. New construction and remodeling.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Data entry, ordering office supplies, finding employees that meet qualifications to work in construction field.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, 401k.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I love being in contact wwith and meeting new people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
This is a office location. I like my place of work because everyone is easy going.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had a single interview with the head of our HR department.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What skills did I possess that would be used in this line of work.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I felt comfortable in what I was doing.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained for my position. I had to learn what types of programs were used and what information was needed for data entry.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I don’t feel my educational background prepared me but I do feel previous jobs helped.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be a good listener and follow instructions.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be well organized and efficient because many people are counting on you to have what is needed. Able to communicate easily because you come in contact with so many people. Typing skills help since you are always inputing information in the computer.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think it helps to have some education but it is not necessary.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to be comfortable with speaking to people and making sure you have all information to complete the tasks that are needed to be done.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because it is something that I have wanted to do.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to work in the Sales and Marketing department and help the company growth.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think alot of people are unhappy with there job. I am very thankful that I have a job that is great for me and really want to stick with this company.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 receptionist 4 years 20000 Speaking to people and setting appointments.
Prior Job 2 Secretary 1 year 21000 Data Entry.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.