Program Manager/Human Resources/Accounting (Female, Age 25) in Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Program Manager/Human Resources/Accounting in Los Angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Program Manager/Human Resources/Accounting
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Los Angeles, CA
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small (staff of 6) organization that is not for profit. We work closely with LAUSD and small pilot schools in the area of Pico Union.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I was hired as an administrative assistant but quickly became a program manager who also handles the human resources matters as well as the accounting. I also coordinate events and take care of any need the organization, staff may need.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Benefits that include Medical, Vision & Dental. We are currently working on getting a 401(k) plan as well. We get 3 weeks of vacation increasing by the years you are employed as well as sick day.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well compesated at the moment but can see how my job description is growing and therefore would hope that my salary will match that in the future.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I leave my home by 7:20 a.m. to drop off my children at daycare. I do not arrive at work until 8 am.
8am to 9am This part of my day usually consists of reading emails, replying to emails, and returning phone calls. I usually can count on spending about 30-40 minutes on doing this as I am the contact person for all business related to our organization.
9am to 10am I have a weekly scheduled meeting with the Executive Director of our organization to touch bases and follow up on pending items on my to do list. We also spend time on scheduling and coordinating any events that are coming up and planning that might need to take place. We also take time to go over finances and any pending matters that are urgent in regards to funding and pending payments.
10am to 11am My meeting with the Executive Director usually runs through 10:30 am and on a busy day until 11:00 a.m. This is also because the director is always in meetings and constantly flying to conferences. The time I have with her is limited and therefore I always take advantage of this time so I can run things by her or get any signatures I need for accounting purposes.
11am to 12pm At this time I return to my office and work on any pending matters for the day before I go to lunch at 12 p.m. I plan ahead any meetings and make sure I schedule time in with our accountant. I also take this time to pay bills, send out invoices or follow up on pending payments with LAUSD.
12pm to 1pm This is my lunch time. I take an hour lunch.
1pm to 2pm This portion of the day for me consists of following up on any matters on my to do lists. This can be anywhere from sending out invitations for professional developments coming up, or workshops. Sending any financial information to our accountant to ordering office supplies as needed.Replying to emails and taking requests for bookings of our conference room.
2pm to 3pm This time frame is when I usually work on the books. We currently work with an accountant and use an online quickbooks edition for our accounting. I enter bills, pay bills, print computer checks, and look at our check registers. I enter any deposit information and make sure purchases are classified correctly.
3pm to 4pm This is my last hour at the office so I plan ahead for anything that is scheduled the following day. We usually have workshops or meetings held at our local schools so I pack the materials we will need. This could be anything from water to char paper and name tags. I also check on the catering and review the details of the order, the number of people and where it should be delivered as well as the time. I pack up and close the office. That concludes a work day at my office.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.