Teacher (Male, Age 32) in Reading, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 32 who works as a Teacher in Reading, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$39,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week41
Company Size(not answered)
LocationReading, PA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a School District with over 400 teachers.I am a Special Ed. HighSchool teacher.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Lesson Plans, curriculum, resources, grades, IEP, and all classroom management.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Insurance, Retirement, 10 sick days, 1 personal days, and 3 emergency days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I do enjoy working with others which is why I got into teaching.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet ready to come to work
8am to 9amTeach my second period Biology class
9am to 10amTeach my third period Biology class
10am to 11amMy prep period to get future work done
11am to 12pmTeach my 5th period biology class
12pm to 1pmteach my 6th period biology class
1pm to 2pmLunch
2pm to 3pmteach my 8th period Environmental Science class
3pm to 4pmTeach last period of Biology and go home for the evening
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Resume and Standard Teaching Applicaton

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, interview with head of Human Resources, Principal, Department Head and Asst. Superintendent.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
All related to curriculum and education processes in the classroom.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
YES, but nothing prepares you for class room experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes induction program

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, once again nothing can prepare you for class room experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college teacher are in high demand especially in the field of Special Ed.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience, empathy, social skills, organization skills, and interpersonal skill.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Patience is key

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. What I always wanted to do.

What are your current career goals?
become a administrator within education

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Youth Advocate2 years29500social work, in home counseling
Prior Job 2Domestic Violence Specialist2 1/2 years25000domestic violence counselor

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8ESUSec. Ed./General Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9AlveriniaSpecial Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.