Childcare Giver (Female, Age 35) in Mantua, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Childcare Giver in Mantua, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChildcare Giver
Salary$13,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMantua, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I home care children in my own home.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Duties include nurturing the children, helping them grow into their own unique individuals.Teaching them their ABC’s, numbers, colors an etc,changing diapers,making and feeding them all snacks and meals.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
NA

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
No I love what I do, in childcare you can never be compensated enough taking care of little ones

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes my job works around children and having communication with the parents

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at home which is benefical to me so I can stay home with my own children

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amChildren arrive around 8 am
8am to 9amPrepare breakfast and than cleanup
9am to 10amPrepared babies bottle, changed diapers.
10am to 11amKids sat down to watch The Cat in the Hat while eating popcorn
11am to 12pmKids lay down for a nap,while other children watch rest of the movie and color.
12pm to 1pmI prepared lunch at 12 and than cleaned up after the children.Changed kids diapers.
1pm to 2pmAt this older children made cereal necklaces.I made the baby a bottle.
2pm to 3pmAt this time we played ABC Bingo
3pm to 4pmChanged the kids diapers and than we went outside to play games and play on the playground equipment.
4pm to 5pmAt this time it is quiet time the children play quietly looking at a book, and watching TV
5pm to 6pmAt 5-5:30 parents picked up their kids.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
place ads online

What was the application process?
sumitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes with every parent I have them come interview my family and my home

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What hours are you available?What do you charge?Do you supply meals?What type of curriculum do you have?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
NA

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I have childcare since the age of 11.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would probably tell them to make sure their kid is child safe.Be strict on what hours you are open and always have a contract.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills,patience,understanding, maternal instincts

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient with children each child learns on their own level.Each child is their own individual.Do not judge a child by what another one does.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Kind of,my career plan was to be a Kindergarten teacher

What are your current career goals?
NA

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Working with children has to be the best field.We mentor children as they are our future

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Childcare provider4 years13000working with children helping their minds grow into unique individuals.Tending to their every needs
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.