(Male, Age 38) from Prescott, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a Associate in Prescott, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Associate
Salary 65000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Prescott, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small law firm

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Research and write motions and appear in court

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, and I like it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am get up

take kids to school

go to work

8am to 9am turn on computer

check email/calendar

get coffee

start work

9am to 10am work on motions


client meetings

10am to 11am meet with supervisor

meet with paralegals


11am to 12pm lunch

go to gym

run errands

12pm to 1pm client meetings

continue work


1pm to 2pm keep working

meet clients

more of the same

2pm to 3pm keep working

meet clients

phone calls

3pm to 4pm finish most important tasks

file motions

prepare for tomorrow

4pm to 5pm wind down

check email

check calendar

5pm to 6pm sign off

go home

do shopping on way home

6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
sent resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview with the partners

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
it was more of a discussion than questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
my employer employs me I prepare myself

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
not really except law school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get basic experience first

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
law school

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
enjoy it

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I planned to be a lawyer

What are your current career goals?
expand my current knowledge

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Associate 2 years 50000 associate lawyer
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1 Princeton Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.4? U of AZ Law

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.