Network Engineer 

(Female, Age 32) from Cook Station, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Network Engineer in Cook Station, MO. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Network Engineer
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Cook Station, MO
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small locally owned company with only a couple of employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Set up network bridges, work on routers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with customers most of the day. I dislike the ignorance some of the customers have about how things work.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My office is in my home. I enjoy being able to be home with my kids all day while working

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 5

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, he told me everything entailed along with my getting to see how he deals with the situations

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, 3 days at Mikrotik training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, I didn’t take much in the area of computers in college.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend attending the classes (not just college) dealing with mikrotik

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational skills, technical skills, patience, patience, patience

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
know what you are doing and just get used to telling people it doesnt work that way and dropping it at that.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?

What are your current career goals?
same as what I am doing

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Shift leader 6years 15000 manage the shift
Prior Job 2 shift leader 1 year 10000 manage the shift

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.6

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.6 SEMO pre veterinary medicine
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.