Owner (Male, Age 35) in Boerne, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 35 who works as a Owner in Boerne, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBoerne, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small family owned business

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I soley run and operate the business

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my job as I deal mostly one on one with my client

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home, field, residents.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI am on my way to work. This is a one hour commute into the city from a small town.
8am to 9amI checked my machines all my main backhoe to make sure they are running properly. All machines need a safety check and need to be oiled and filled full of gas before we start the days work.
9am to 10amWe worked on towns water main line in a newly developed residential area. A cooler day for a change since we work 10 hours a day in the hot sun.
10am to 11amWe are in the process of placing new pipining in freshly dug lines. Backhoe operators dig the holes ans the laborers install the piping.
11am to 12pm1 hour lunch break, you may eat at the work place but I leave and come back.
12pm to 1pmI continued laying the pipe as we are on a strict deadline to get it done for our project manager.
1pm to 2pmWe still ontinued laying the pipe.
2pm to 3pmWe are now filling in all holes over the newly installed piping wiith the freshly dug dirt by our backhoe operators.
3pm to 4pmWe cleaned up work areas and returned all machinery to their storage units.
4pm to 5pmI now haveleft work to go home.
5pm to 6pmAt home.
6pm to 7pmAt home.
7pm to 8pmAt home.
8pm to 9pmSleep.
9pm to 10pmSleep.
10pm to 11pmSleep.
11pm to 12amSleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I started my own company.

What was the application process?
Register my business name with the State and work hard to make my business a success.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
none

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
N/A

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Only basic math skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have a goal and stick to it.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience, hard work ethics.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
none

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Persistance, be patient, work hard, do not give up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I always wanted to have my own business.

What are your current career goals?
To make my business bigger and more successful, with higher income and more employees.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Owner2 years28000
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.