Office Admin (Female, Age 25) in Morgantown, WV

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Office Admin in Morgantown, WV. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Admin
Salary$10,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMorgantown, WV
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Family owned HVAC company. They install and repair Heating and Air conditioning units.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I schedule appointments, answer customer phone calls, payroll, balance accounts, file, cut checks, and other various office work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Sometimes under but I am happy and love my job.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do work with others. I talk to customers every day on the phone and in person, I am the type of person who has to be in contact with people all day. I love it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a small office and a desk with a small T.V. and a bathroom. There is a shop connected to my office where the associates work on Duct work and etc.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Calling around to local businesses

What was the application process?
A Job application, a phone interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I just had a phone interview because my then boss knew the one i work for now and gave me a very good reference.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can you work 20-40 hours a week? Are you good with people?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do, because I didn’t have a lot of problems when I started and when I did they explained everything.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes it entailed A day watching the former Office Admin for a day. I did somethings on day 2. On Day three I did everything and she watched me. My work was observed for about a week after.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had no high school training I would not be able to do simple tasks like writing a letter or a service ticket. Math is in my everyday Job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start out at a small place of business, I started out at a local car tinting shop just answering phones in the summer. Then as with every job you work your way up.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization, Customer service skills, Excel, Quick Books, Math Skills, and Memorization

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take notes about everything, and Listen to everything everyone tells you very carefully. Learn to take key words from certain situations.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it teaches me everyday about up to date programs like Quick Books, and handling banking issues.

What are your current career goals?
Accountant or Book keeping

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you make good money and you hate waking up to go to work, it won’t be worth following it in the long run. It will only make you miserable. You have to want to wake up and go to work every morning or life is no fun!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Secretary2 years8Answer Phones, Make appointments, Greet customers, get keys, clean.
Prior Job 2Baker2 Years7.5Bake Doughnuts, Cookies, Cakes, peporoni rolls, clean, check exp. dates.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.