Account Supervisor 

(Female, Age 33) from New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Account Supervisor in New York, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Account Supervisor
Salary $75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location New York, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at a large PR agency, where we conduct programs for clients on corporate reputation, execute events, media relations campaigns.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Team oversight, day-to-day client relations, new business research, media pitching, writing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 401K, HMO/PPO health and dental, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes and yes. teamwork is integral to agency life.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Arrive at work around 9am
9am to 10am Arrive at work, check email, get coffee, respond to requests from coworkers and clients (questions or documents), around 9:45 start to review materials for a 10:00 meeting
10am to 11am Meet (over the phone) with boss, colleague and two counterparts in another office to discuss a service offering and how we can intergrate that into current new business pitches. Call lasts full hour and we leave with action items.
11am to 12pm Back at desk, review missed emails, check personl email, send written summary update on call to participants. At 11:30, attend another meeting for a client’s upcoming promotion and discuss with team various ways to promote the business angle/strategy.
12pm to 1pm check email, review WSJ and New York Times for influetial stories and trends that my clients can comment on.
1pm to 2pm Grab lunch, eat at desk, continue to check for stories in newspaper. Next make changes to credentials presentation and send as follow up to some people we met with yesterday.
2pm to 3pm Meet with two junior team members, brainstorm story ideas for insurance client. We come up with 4-5 ideas, assign responsibilties and deadlines, I send update to my boss on what happened.
3pm to 4pm Respond to emails as they come in, review story ideas
4pm to 5pm Respond to emails as they come in, reviwe story ideas. Go home at 5.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
HR meeting (from referral), then met with my future boss, then got job offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes — see answer above.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
We discussed the client issues and objectives and some of my ideas for them.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
there’s no real training here, you sink or swim

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
you had to have a bachelors

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes in that you had to learn about deadlines and working with others and understand basic concepts — but it’s nothing like school. Get an internship first.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Understand the concept of PR and what we do. Apply for internship first, make good contacts.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good writer, good communicator, idea person, good with people, love the media

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – know the media

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
read the paper (online or off), watch the news… you must know current events

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes — it’s all part of the process

What are your current career goals?
Stay in agency life for a few years and then go client-side

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not really — thanks for reading.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 acct supervisor 4 years 55000 similar to my current position, I was with a competitor
Prior Job 2 account executive 2 years 40000 much smaller company, small clients, focused on one industry

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 University of Illinois journalism, bachelors
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.